Sacred Doorways – Byzantine Iconography

Tickets Available for Summer/Fall Classes - June 6, 2017

More than decorative elements, color plays a very important role in Byzantine iconography, which is one of the oldest art forms to survive unchanged for the past 2,000 years. Students are introduced to both the practical and the theoretical part of the iconographic tradition (iconology). You’ll use natural materials: wood panels gessoed with naturally ground, genuine gold leaf and egg tempera made from natural pigments. You’ll learn the language of light, color, image and symbol, with the iconic symbolism explained alongside the technical instruction.

 

Pre-registration is required.

No prerequisites.

Open to both experienced and amateur students. No artistic experience is required from the beginning student.

Fee: $55/session member, $70/session non-member

• Mon, June 5, 9 a.m. – noon

 

• Mon, June 19, 9 a.m. – noon

 

• Mon, June 26, 9 a.m. - noon

 

• Mon, July 3, 9 a.m. - noon

 

Summer/Fall Dates

• Mon, Aug. 14, 9 a.m. - Noon

 

• Mon, Aug. 28, 9 a.m. - Noon

Note: Advanced students only, no beginners for this date.

 

• Mon, Sept. 11, 9 a.m. - Noon

 

• Mon, Sept. 18, 9 a.m. - Noon

Note: Advanced students only, no beginners for this date.

 

• Mon, Oct. 2, 9 a.m. - Noon

 

• Mon, Oct. 16, 9 a.m. - Noon

 

• Mon, Oct. 30, 9 a.m. - Noon

Note: Advanced students only, no beginners for this date.

 

• Mon, Nov. 13, 9 a.m. - Noon

Note: Advanced students only, no beginners for this date.

 

Instructor: Laurence Pierson

Laurence Pierson has over 20 years of experience in icon painting. She studied iconography at the Louvre, Paris, under a Lebanese master. Later, she studied with a Greek and a Chilean iconographer, and thus was exposed to different schools and different techniques while refining her own approach. Laurence has taught in France and Ireland, and since 2010, in Denver.