Discovery Days at York Street offer a unique mix of garden exploration, guided activities and self-guided activities. Groups can visit a variety of guided and self-guided stations throughout the Gardens at their own pace. At each station there is an activity related to the theme of the Discovery Day. In between stations, groups are encouraged to explore the Gardens on their own. Please note that the Mordecai Children’s Garden is not open to school groups during Discovery Days.

Reservations
Scheduling begins on Aug. 15, 2019 for the entire school year. Once your reservation is submitted, you will receive a confirmation email. Please be sure to read all confirmation material to best prepare for your field trip.

Cost
Discovery Days cost $3.50 per student for schools within the SCFD, $5.50 per student for schools outside the SCFD. One adult chaperone (parent or teacher) for every five students is admitted free of charge. Extra adults must pay $7 each, no exceptions.

Pre-payment for all school group visits
We require advance payment for school group visits. Final payment is due one week before the program. Additional children or chaperones will result in additional cost the day of the program. Bringing fewer students does not result in a refund because we must prepare for your full number of students.

You may pay via check or credit card.

  • When paying by check please make the check out to Denver Botanic Gardens. You may mail it to 909 York Street, Denver, CO 80206; Attn: school programs.
  • When making payment by credit card please call our resource center at 720-865-3500. 

Cancellation and Rescheduling
Cancellations with less than one week’s notice are non-refundable. If you must reschedule or make other changes, please do so as early as possible because our dates often fill.

Plant Discovery Day (Grades K-3)

Explore the world of plants, how they grow and how people use them. Activity stations provide a variety of hands-on guided and self-guided activities about the basics of plants.

Where: Denver Botanic Gardens at York Street

When: 10 a.m. - 1 p.m., offered on select days throughout the school year. Schools from any district can register for any date.
Monday, Sept. 23
Tuesday, Sept. 24
Wednesday, Sept. 25
Monday, April 13
Tuesday, April 14
Wednesday, April 15
Thursday, April 16
Friday, April 17
Monday, May 18
Tuesday, May 19
Wednesday, May 20
Thursday, May 21
Friday, May 22

Register

Día Discovery Day (Grades 1-5)

Explore hands-on activities with your students during Día de los Muertos.

Where: Denver Botanic Gardens at York Street

When: 10 a.m. – noon
Friday, Nov. 1

Register

Journey to the Rainforest Discovery Day (Grades 1-5)

Explore the rainforest ecosystem through hand-on activities stations. Students learn about various rainforest plants, their adaptations and how rainforest plants are used in their daily lives in a variety of guided and self-guided activities.

Where: Denver Botanic Gardens at York Street

When: 10 a.m. – noon
Friday, Dec. 13
Friday, Dec. 20
Friday, Jan. 24, 2020
Friday, Feb. 21, 2020

Register

Global Biome Discovery Day (Grades 2–4)

Explore the variety of ecosystems represented at Denver Botanic Gardens through interactive activity stations. This discovery program is the perfect complement to your ecosystem or habitat science unit.

Where: Denver Botanic Gardens at York Street

When: 10 a.m. – noon, offered on select days throughout the school year. Schools from any district can register for any date.
Friday, Sept. 20
Friday, Oct. 11
Friday, March 27, 2020
Friday, April 24, 2020

Register

Science Inquiry Stations (Grades 6-8)

Experience the science of gardening. Students engage in science practices to explore natural phenomenon through facilitated activity stations.

Where: Denver Botanic Gardens at York Street

When: 10 a.m. – noon, offered on select days throughout the school year. Schools from any district can register for any date.
Friday, Oct. 4
Friday, Jan. 17, 2020
Friday, Feb. 14, 2020
Friday, March 13, 2020

Register