• Newsletter icon
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Pinterest icon
  • Blog icon
  • YouTube icon
  • DBG Instagram

Botanical Illustration

Palaenopsis by Sendy Issanti, colored pencilBotanical art and illustration is the well-established tradition of portraying plants for scientific purposes, recording vanishing species for historical record, or rendering the beauty and inspiration we experience in the flora of the world around us.

We invite you to join the tradition of artists who have portrayed the beauty of plants for centuries. Our core curriculum provides comprehensive instruction in botanical art and illustration.

In the School of Botanical Art and Illustration, you will learn the skills to render plants in remarkable scientific detail and the artistic techniques needed to create beautiful and lasting plant portraits.

Beginners will acquire new knowledge and skills, and experienced artists will refine techniques and find fresh directions for their work. All students enjoy small classes in a positive and encouraging atmosphere.

With close to 200 courses and workshops offered each year, we'll help you to combine scientific accuracy with an aesthetic vision to create beautiful botanicals. Sample the program with an introductory course or jump right into the core curriculum. Whether you have painted for years or did your last great work in grade school, our instructors will meet you where you are to begin your botanical art and illustration journey.

NEW! 2014 Summer/Fall Botanical Art & Illustration course catalog
Registration begins June 10, 9 a.m. Classes will appear sold out until then.  

2014 BI Summer Fall cover

Vist the School of Botanical Art and Illustration blog.

Visit the School of Botanical Art and Illustration page on Facebook.

Upcoming Classes

Framing Botanical Art

Thursday, July 31, 2014 - 9 a.m.
York Street

Read More

Realism in Botanical Illustration

Thursday, July 31, 2014 - 6 p.m.
York Street

Read More

Artist Trading Cards (ATC) 1. Colored Pencil on Black Background

Friday, August 1, 2014 - 9 a.m.
York Street

Read More

Artist Trading Cards (ATC) 2. Graphite and Water-Soluble Pencil

Saturday, August 2, 2014 - 9 a.m.
York Street

Read More

Artist Trading Cards (ATC) 3. Zentangle® with Ink and Color

Sunday, August 3, 2014 - 9 a.m.
York Street

Read More

Into the Dark: Cast Shadows

Thursday, August 7, 2014 - 9 a.m.
York Street

Read More

BI in Watercolor II

Friday, August 8, 2014 - 9 a.m.
York Street

Read More

Art Materials for the Botanical Illustrator

Monday, August 11, 2014 - 6 p.m.
York Street

Read More

Perfecting Perspective

Thursday, August 14, 2014 - 9 a.m.
York Street

Read More

BI in Pen and Ink I

Thursday, August 14, 2014 - 1 p.m.
York Street

Read More

BI in Pencil I

Friday, August 15, 2014 - 9 a.m.
York Street

Read More

Light on Form

Friday, August 22, 2014 - 9 a.m.
York Street

Read More

BI in Pencil I

Tuesday, August 26, 2014 - 9 a.m.
York Street

Read More

BI in Watercolor I

Tuesday, August 26, 2014 - 6 p.m.
York Street

Read More

Drawing on Tradition: The Illuminated Calligraphy of Irene Wellington

Wednesday, August 27, 2014 - 9 a.m.
York Street

Read More

Open Studio

Wednesday, August 27, 2014 - 1 p.m.
York Street

Read More

Flowers in Kaleidoscope with Colored Pencils

Wednesday, August 27, 2014 - 6 p.m.
York Street

Read More

Plant Portraits for Publication: NEW Plant Select Book

Tuesday, September 2, 2014 - 1 p.m.
York Street

Read More

Illustrating on Coquille Board (Stipple Board)

Wednesday, September 3, 2014 - 1 p.m.
York Street

Read More

White Ink and Transparent Colors on Toned Paper

Thursday, September 4, 2014 - 6 p.m.
York Street

Read More

Art at 75 MPH

Friday, September 5, 2014 - 9 a.m.
York Street

Read More

Drawing on Tradition: Butterflies and Bees of William H. Lizars

Monday, September 8, 2014 - 9 a.m.
York Street

Read More

BI in Colored Pencil II

Monday, September 8, 2014 - 1 p.m.
York Street

Read More

Drawing on Tradition: Plant Alphabet and Karl Blossfeldt

Monday, September 8, 2014 - 6 p.m.
York Street

Read More

Improve Your Handwriting Skills

Thursday, September 11, 2014 - 9 a.m.
York Street

Read More

Café Botanique

Wednesday, September 17, 2014 - 6:30 p.m.
York Street

Read More

Botany for the Botanical Illustrator

Wednesday, September 24, 2014 - 6 p.m.
York Street

Read More

Giclée Printing Made Easy

Thursday, September 25, 2014 - 9 a.m.
York Street

Read More

Open Studio

Thursday, September 25, 2014 - 1 p.m.
York Street

Read More

The Wonderful World of Values and Textures in Pen and Ink

Thursday, September 25, 2014 - 6 p.m.
York Street

Read More

Composition for Botanical Illustration

Friday, September 26, 2014 - 9 a.m.
York Street

Read More

Botanical Zentangle®

Sunday, September 28, 2014 - 9 a.m.
York Street

Read More

BI in Pencil II

Tuesday, September 30, 2014 - 9 a.m.
York Street

Read More

Thistle Heads and Acorn Forms

Tuesday, September 30, 2014 - 1 p.m.
York Street

Read More

Autumn Leaves in Watercolor

Tuesday, September 30, 2014 - 6 p.m.
York Street

Read More

Light on Form

Wednesday, October 1, 2014 - 9 a.m.
York Street

Read More

Color Mixing for Artists

Thursday, October 2, 2014 - 9 a.m.
York Street

Read More

BI in Watercolor II

Thursday, October 2, 2014 - 1 p.m.
York Street

Read More

Color Layering for Colored Pencil

Friday, October 3, 2014 - 9 a.m.
York Street

Read More

Creative Color Mixing with Ann Swan

Friday, October 10, 2014 - 9 a.m.
York Street

Read More

Tips and Tricks: Techniques Intense (Graphite and Colored Pencil) with Ann Swan

Monday, October 13, 2014 - 9 a.m.
York Street

Read More

Crossed Structure Bindings

Monday, October 13, 2014 - 6 p.m.
York Street

Read More

Open Studio

Wednesday, October 15, 2014 - 1 p.m.
York Street

Read More

BI in Pencil I

Friday, October 17, 2014 - 9 a.m.
York Street

Read More

Mastering Mushrooms: Master Class with Alexander Viazmensky

Monday, October 20, 2014 - 9 a.m.
York Street

Read More

Café Botanique

Wednesday, October 22, 2014 - 6:30 a.m.
York Street

Read More

Introduction to Mushrooms and Painting Mushrooms with Alexander Viazmensky

Thursday, October 23, 2014 - 9 a.m.
York Street

Read More

Introduction to Botanical Illustration

Friday, October 24, 2014 - 5 p.m.
York Street

Read More

Undulating, Folding and Sparkling: Understanding Plant Forms with Zentangle® “Tangles”

Saturday, October 25, 2014 - 9 a.m.
York Street

Read More

Egg Tempera

Monday, October 27, 2014 - 9 a.m.
York Street

Read More

BI in Pencil II

Monday, October 27, 2014 - 1 p.m.
York Street

Read More

Miniature Masterpieces

Wednesday, October 29, 2014 - 1 p.m.
York Street

Read More

Texture on Mylar with Colored Pencil

Friday, October 31, 2014 - 9 a.m.
York Street

Read More

BI in Colored Pencil I

Monday, November 3, 2014 - 6 p.m.
York Street

Read More

BI in Pen and Ink II

Tuesday, November 4, 2014 - 1 p.m.
York Street

Read More

Light on Form

Wednesday, November 5, 2014 - 6 p.m.
York Street

Read More

Café Botanique

Wednesday, November 5, 2014 - 6:30 p.m.
York Street

Read More

BI in Pencil I

Thursday, November 6, 2014 - 6 p.m.
York Street

Read More

Pop-Up the Vegetables and Critters!

Friday, November 7, 2014 - 9 a.m.
York Street

Read More

BI in Watercolor I

Tuesday, November 11, 2014 - 9 a.m.
York Street

Read More

BI in Pen and Ink I

Tuesday, November 11, 2014 - 6 p.m.
York Street

Read More

Composition for Botanical Illustration

Wednesday, November 12, 2014 - 9 a.m.
York Street

Read More

Charcoal on Colored Background (Other Than Black)

Thursday, November 13, 2014 - 9 a.m.
York Street

Read More

Perfecting Perspective

Friday, November 14, 2014 - 9 a.m.
York Street

Read More

BI in Pencil I

Friday, November 21, 2014 - 9 a.m.
York Street

Read More

Amaryllis in Transparent Acrylics

Monday, December 1, 2014 - 9 a.m.
York Street

Read More

Color Layering for Colored Pencil

Friday, December 5, 2014 - 9 a.m.
York Street

Read More

Botany for the Botanical Illustrator

Friday, December 12, 2014 - 9 a.m.
York Street

Read More